Area Code & Time Zone Map of the Caribbean

LincMad’s Caribbean area code map, caribmap.svg

(Unable to view the SVG version of the map? Click here for the PNG version.)

The red dashed lines on the map show groupings of islands, and do not accurately reflect maritime boundaries.

The telephone codes shown above are either international country codes (e.g., ‎+596‎ for Martinique) or North American area codes (shown as +1 XXX). The two-letter codes are ISO 3166-1 codes, most of which are also in use as Internet top-level domains. The old AN code for the former Netherlands Antilles has been discontinued in favor of the new codes (SX for Sint Maarten, CW for Curaçao, and (BQ) for Bonaire, Sint Eustasius, and Saba). SX and CW are already in use on the Internet; BQ may be activated some time in the future, but for now those islands use the Netherlands ‎.NL Internet domain.

Also, the French islands of BL Saint-Barthélemy and MF Saint-Martin continue to use .gp (Guadeloupe) or .fr (France) for Internet domains.

JM Jamaica added +1 658 as an overlay on its existing North American telephone area code +1 876, effective ‎2019-04-30‎. (Jamaica postponed implementation of the 658 overlay to allow more time for businesses to update equipment to handle 10‑digit dialing.)

Time Zones are shown in the same format used on the US/Canada map. To convert to international format (offset from UTC/GMT), subtract 12 hours from the time shown; for example, 7:00 (Eastern Standard Time) is UTC–05:00. The Bahamas, the Turks & Caicos, Bermuda, Cuba, and Haiti observe daylight saving time on the same schedule as the USA and Canada. From the second Sunday in March until the first Sunday in November — for example, from ‎2021-03-14‎ until ‎2021-11-07‎ or from ‎2022-03-13‎ until ‎2022-11-06‎ — those areas are one hour later, as indicated by the 🌞 sunburst icon. The rest of the year, they are on standard time, indicated by the ❄️ snowflake icon. The Cayman Islands began observing DST in 2016, using the same dates as the USA and Canada. The other islands all observe standard time year-round. Note that the Turks & Caicos Islands changed to Atlantic Standard Time (UTC–04:00, or 8:00 in LincMad notation), year-round. The Turks & Caicos no longer observe DST. Also, Venezuela created its own time zone, halfway between Colombia to the west and the islands to the north and east, but in 2016 reverted to UTC–04:00 (8:00 in LincMad notation).

Details about the Caribbean area codes and other nearby country codes are presented in table format on a separate web page. As of ‎1999-05-31‎, only DO Dominican Republic continues to use area code ‎+1 809‎, now overlaid with ‎+1 829‎ and ‎+1 849‎. Note that PR Puerto Rico’s ‎+1 787‎ was overlaid with ‎+1 939‎.

Although BM Bermuda is, strictly speaking, in the Atlantic Ocean (about 1000 km east of South Carolina) rather than in the Caribbean Sea, it is included on the map because it shared the old North American area code ‎+1 809‎ until 1996. Bermuda is now ‎+1 441‎; ‎+1 809‎ is now only DO Dominican Republic.